January 24, 2018

SHE Media Announces That the Women’s March Global Founders and the Journalists Who Broke the Harvey Weinstein News Are Among The Honorees of Its Voices of the Year Change-Makers Awards

NEW YORK, NY – January 24, 2018 – SHE Media, formerly SheKnows Media, is a mission-driven digital media company created for and by women with approximately 60 million unique visitors per month (comScore) and 350 million-plus social media fans and followers, today announced the honorees of its Voices of the Year Change-Makers Awards, which celebrates content creators, influencers and social advocates whose work deserves to be heard, seen, recognized and read.

The Voices of the Year (#VOTY) celebration will take place live on the evening of Jan. 30 in New York City at #BlogHer18 Health, a conference produced by SHE Media for women content creators in the health and wellness space.

Honorees of this year’s #VOTY Change-Makers Awards include the founders behind the Women’s March Global movement, which inspired millions of individuals around the globe to march on Jan. 21, 2017 to advocate legislation and policies regarding women’s rights as human rights, as well as the rights and voices of people around the world. Co-President Bob Bland, Treasurer Carmen Perez and Assistant Treasurer Linda Sarsour will take the stage during the celebration to accept the award for the #VOTY Change-Makers Revolution category.

The New York Times journalists Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey will accept a Bravery #VOTY Change-Makers Award for breaking the Harvey Weinstein story. One of the biggest stories of the year, their work revealed the movie producer’s long-time sexual harassment and assault on women, which subsequently shook loose similar accounts about more than 40 other powerful men across a variety of industries – from entertainment to politics to news media.

Tarana Burke will accept the #VOTY Catalyst Award. Burke is the founder of the MeToo movement, which has gained momentum for exposing the prevalent issue of sexual harassment and abuse and to give victims a platform to speak up. Krista Suh, Founder of The Pussyhat Project, will accept an award for Art for Impact.

The 2018 #VOTY Awards, now in its 11th year, will also celebrate women who are pioneers in business, as well as those who destigmatize and bring awareness to important issues impacting the health and happiness of women and girls everywhere.

Chelsea Clinton, vice chair of the Clinton Foundation, will receive the Call to Action Award for her tireless efforts to inspire the next generation of young leaders to make change in their communities, advance opportunities for girls and women, and improve the health and well-being of children and families across the U.S. and around the world.

Gwyneth Paltrow will receive the Trailblazer Award. An award-winning actor, and mother and entrepreneur, Paltrow will be celebrated for turning her homespun goop newsletter into a full-fledged, wellness-centric lifestyle media brand and luxury product line.

See below for the full list of #VOTY honorees:

  • Revolution Award: Bob Bland, Carmen Perez, Linda Sarsour and Tamika Mallory, founders of the Women’s March Global

  • Empowerment Through Artistry Award: singer/songwriter Brynn Elliott

  • Call to Action Award: Chelsea Clinton, Vice Chair of the Clinton Foundation

  • Heart + Soul Award: artist, poet and storyteller Cleo Wade

  • Authenticity Award: Daysha Edewi for chronicling her incredible transportation following a DNA-based diet and fitness plan

  • Trailblazer Award: Gwyneth Paltrow, actor, entrepreneur and creator of goop

  • Courage Award: Jen James of CrisisTextLine.org and writer of the “My Life as a Survivor” article

  • Inspiration Award: Jessamyn Stanley, body positivity advocate and author of Every Body Yoga

  • Bravery Award: Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey of The New York Times, who broke the Harvey Weinstein story

  • Spotlight Award: Kimberly Zapata for her Sunshine Spoils Milk article, “Chester Bennington’s Death – And the Conversation We Should Be Having

  • Art for Impact Award: Krista Suh, creator of The Pussyhat Project

  • Catalyst Award: Tarana Burke, founder of the MeToo movement

 “2017 achieved a great deal – from reigniting a movement for women’s rights and empowerment through the Women’s March, to bringing down dozens of heavyweights across a wide range of industries that have harassed, intimidated, assaulted and limited the advancement of women starting with Harvey Weinstein, to the rise of more and more female entrepreneurs and influencers who are using their online platforms to raise their voices and their hands about the issues they care about most,” said Samantha Skey, CEO of SHE Media. “This is what the Voices of the Year is all about. We are thrilled to fete such an amazing group of honorees during our #BlogHer18 Health conference.”

For more information about the #VOTY Change-Makers Awards, #BlogHer18 Health or to register for the conference, go to http://www.blogher.com/blogher18-health


About SHE Media

SHE Media is a mission-driven digital media company created by and for women with approximately 60 million unique visitors per month (comScore) and 350 million-plus social media fans and followers. Our mission is to validate women’s voices and leadership as a unifying force for global good. The SHE Media Partner Network is the leading source for thousands of content creators, offering a diverse portfolio of monetization opportunities and educational materials to help them turn their passions into profit. SHE Media encompasses a family of leading media properties alongside our flagship sites: SheKnows.comSTYLECASTER, and BlogHer, which hosts the world’s leading events for female content creators and entrepreneurs. SHE Media is also the creator of innovative platforms that include: The #Femvertising Awards, which honors the best pro-female advertising each year; Hatch, a resource for parents featuring kid-generated content; and The Pitch, a live event series for women entrepreneurs.

Part of Penske Media Corporation (PMC), SHE Media is based in New York, with offices in Los Angeles, Chicago and Scottsdale, Ariz. Follow SHE Media on FacebookTwitter and LinkedIn.

Media Contact:

Jenni Ottum     
Sr. Director, Public Relations          
SHE Media